> The Leopard Lukoil Team ready to compete the 2018 TCR Europe Series


The TCR Europe Trophy has been upgraded to a proper international series since this 2018 season. The Leopard Lukoil Team will race with the former TCR Champ Jean-Karl Vernay on a Audi RS 3 LMS.


The 2018 TCR Europe Series will take place over 7 rounds on some of the most attractive racetracks in the old continent and promoted by the TCR Euro Series Ltd., a subsidiary of WSC Ltd.


The Trophy was first held in 2016, using events of the existing TCR national series in Benelux, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Russia: Pierre-Yves Corthals won that edition, while last year the title went to Aurélien Comte.


The 2018 season’s change marks a further step forward, establishing a third regional series for TCR cars that adds to the existing TCR Asia and TCR Middle East. The first round will take place this weekend at Le Castellet (France): originally built in 1969 with finance of magnate Paul Ricard, it hosted the Formula1 French Grand Prix for 14 times between 1971 and 1990. It was extensively renewed between 2001 and 2006 and reopened for racing in 2009.


Every event format will feature a Qualifying session split into Q1 and Q2, and two 25-minute races with standing starts and a top-ten reverse grid for Race 2. Two titles will be awarded, for Drivers and Teams. All races will be streamed live on Motorsport TV and www.europe.tcr-series.com.


2018 TCR Europe Series calendar:

5-6 May – Le Castellet (FRA)

20-21 May – Zandvoort (NED)

9-10 June – Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)

7-8 July – Hungaroring (HUN)

18-19 August – TT Assen (NED)

22-23 September – Monza (ITA)

20-21 October – Barcelona (SPA)


Picture: DPPI

youtube twitter facebook live